Year of the Rooster, South Pacific Style

To celebrate the Lunar New Year, several South Pacific nations combined to continue a Lunar New Year series that is as popular with worldwide collectors as it is with its native populations. Orchestrated by Philatelic Collector Inc., the five post offices issuing Year of the Rooster stamps were Aitutaki, Cook Islands, Niuafo'ou, Penrhyn, Samoa and Tonga.

The most innovative is the 3D stamps from Tonga, shown here before and after folding to form the 3D issue.



We show here a few of the issues from other participating nations.

Each set consists of two singles and a die cut with the same stamps in a diamond-shaped format within a die cut design of a rooster. In order, of appearance in the Chinese Zodiac, the 12 animals are Rat,



Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig.

The complete 2017 Pacifics set is available from Philatelic Collector Inc. For additional information on these and other South Pacific islands stamps please go to:

https://pcistamps.com/Cook Islands.php.



